Day Trip Six

Festivals are on going any time of year in Townsend, Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Sevierville and Maryville, Tennessee. On the Gracehill Calendar of Events, I have listed in detail hundreds of events happening in the area, although it would be questionable whether something was an event, show or a festival! I’ve listed what I consider the obvious festivals or fairs here from June through December 2014.

Friday, June 27, 2014- Saturday, June 28, Bigg BBQ Bash, Founder’s Square on Broadway, Maryville, (865) 637-9711. Prize money totaling $7000.00. The 2014 Bigg BBQ Bash is a barbecue cook-off and fundraiser for the Helen Ross McNabb Center, created by the Leadership Blount Class of 2007.

Friday, July 18, 2014- Sunday, July 27, Gatlinburg Craftsmen’s Fair, ten days, 10AM-6PM, Sunday’s 10AM-5PM, at the Gatlinburg Convention Center, art, crafts and music, Gatlinburg, TN.

Thursday, August 21, 2014, for four days, ending Sunday, August 24, all day long, Smoky Mountain Songwriters Festival, Gatlinburg, TN. (865) 604-9066.

Monday, September 1, 2014, for six days, ending Saturday, September 6, all day long: Sevier County Fair, Sevierville, TN. (865) 453-0770.

Thursday, September 11, 2104, 6PM to 8PM, Taste of Blount, Theater in the Park in Maryville, TN

Thursday, September 18, 2014- for three days, ending Saturday, September 20th, Dumplin Valley Farm RV Park, Kodak, TN. Experience some of the nation’s top blue grass musicians + great food and the hint of autumn in the air. For more information, call (865) 397-7942.

Friday, September 26, 2014- for two days, all day long, ending Saturday, September 27th. (800) 525-6834. Fall Heritage Festival and Old Timers Day, Visitor Center, Townsend, TN and Cades Cove in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. (In the same area Railroad Days are happening at the Little River Railroad Museum in Townsend.)

Saturday, September 27, 2014- one day, all day: Blue Ribbon Country Fair, Great Smoky Mountains Heritage Center, Townsend, TN.

Saturday, September 27, 2014- two days, all day long, ending Sunday, September 28th. Nawger Nob Arts and Crafts Show, Townsend, TN.

Friday, October 3, 2014- for three days, sending Sunday, October 5. Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts, Parkway, Gatlinburg. A family oriented fine arts festival featuring juried artists from around the country and music..

Saturday, October 4, 2014, two days, all day long, ending, Sunday, October 5. Smoky Mountain Woodcarvers Festival at the Great Smoky Mountain Heritage Center, Townsend, TN.

Thursday, October 9, 2014 through Sunday, October 26 all day long: Gatlinburg Craftsmen’s Fair, Gatlinburg, TN. (865) 436-7479 Tentative hours are 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Sundays. Music shows are scheduled at 12, 2 and 4 p.m. daily, 12 and 2 p.m. on Sundays. Entertainment is included in the admission cost. Group rates are available. For more information, call 865-436-7479 or visit website.

Friday, October 10th, 2014, three days, all day long, ending Sunday, October 12. Museum of Appalachia Homecoming, Norris, TN.

Friday, October 17, 2014, for three days, all day long, ending Sunday, October 19th. Foothills Fall Festival, Maryville, TN.

Wednesday, November 12, 2014, one day, 5PM to 8PM: Winter Magic Kickoff and Chili Cook off, Gatlinburg, TN

Saturday, November 8, 2014 till Saturday, January 3. Dollywood’s Smoky Mountain Christmas Festival, Pigeon Forge, TN.

Monday, December 1, 2014, seven days, all day, ending Sunday, December 7. Great Smoky Thanksgiving Arts and Crafts Show, Gatlinburg Convention Center.